THE SPRINT-T TRIAL IS RECRUITING!!!!!!

Friday, 19 February, 2016

What are the main aims of the SPRINTT trial?

The SPRINTT project is the largest European clinical study aimed at investigating whether physical disability may be prevented in older subjects with physical frailty and sarcopenia.

Two interventions will be compared in the SPRINTT trial:

1)       A multicomponent intervention, based on physical activity and nutrition counselling, with support of specific technological devices;

2)       A healthy aging lifestyle education programme.

The study will be conducted in 1500 community-living people aged 70 years and older, across 10 European countries (17 recruitment sites across Europe). The duration of the clinical trial will last approximately 3 years.

Main inclusion criteria:

- Age ≥ 70 years old;

- Having reduced muscle mass, i.e. sarcopenia;

- Having reduced physical performance, measured using a combination of three tests: not losing balance in three different positions without arm support, usual gait speed in a 4 meter walk, total time needed to get up and sit down 5 times from a chair without using arms.

- Being able to walk 400 m in less than 15 minutes.

For more information contact the recruiting center nearest to you:

Map of Europe showing where the clinical trial recruiting centers are located: Catholic University of the Sacred Heart School of Medicine (Rome, Italy), IRCCS-INRCA (Ancona, Italy), University of Parma (Parma, Italy), CHU Toulouse (Toulouse, France), CHU Limoges (Limoges, France), Getafe University Hospital (Madrid, Spain), Hospital Universitario Ramón y Cajal (Madrid, Spain), Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (Nürnberg, Germany), Diabetes Frail (Luton, UK),  Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust (Birmingham, UK), Charles University (Prague, Czech Republic), Jagiellonian University Medical College (Krakow, Poland), University of Helsinki (Helsinki, Finland), Maastricht University Medical Center (Maastricht, The Netherlands)

 

1)   Catholic University of the Sacred Heart School of Medicine (Rome, Italy)

Dr. Francesco Landi tel. +39-06-3015-3921

E-mail italia@mysprintt.eu

 

2)   IRCCS-INRCA (Ancona, Italy)

The SPRINT-T team Tel. +39-071-8003284 or +39-071-8003719

E-mail sprintt@inrca.it

 

3)   University of Parma (Parma, Italy)

Prof. Marcello Maggio Tel. +39-0521-903114

E-mail marcellogiuseppe.maggio@unipr.it

The SPRINT-T team Tel. +39-0521-9066424 or +39 0521 903111

E-mail sprintt.parma@unipr.it or fragilita.parma@gmail.com

 

4)   CHU Toulouse (Toulouse, France)

Dr. Agathe Milhet tel. +33-(0)561-77-7115

 E-mail milhet.a@chu-toulouse.fr

 

5)   CHU Limoges (Limoges, France)

Prof. Thierry Dantoine tel. +33-(0)555-05-8626

E-mail Thierry.dantoine@chi-limonges.fr

 

6)   Getafe University Hospital (Madrid, Spain)

Dr. Olga Laosa Zafra tel: 0034 916839360 (Ext 2689)

Email olga.laosa@salud.madrid.org

Prof. Leocadio Rodriguez Mañas tel: 0034 916839360 (Ext. 6412)

E-mail leocadio.rodriguez@salud.madrid.org

 

7)   Hospital Universitario Ramón y Cajal (Madrid, Spain)

Dr. Alfonso Cruz Jentoft tel. +34-913-368-8172

E-mail geriatria.hrc@salud.madrid.org

 

8)   Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (Nürnberg, Germany)

Prof. Dr. Cornel Sieber tel. ++49-911-5302-96150

E-mail Cornel.Sieber@fau.de

Dr. Ellen Freiberger tel. ++49-911-5302-96162

E-mail ellen.freiberger@fau.de

 

9)  Charles University (Prague, Czech Republic)

Prof. Eva Topinkova tel. +420-22-251-42-94

E-mail eva.topinkova@vfn.cz

 

10)  Salesians Hospital (Opava, Czech Republic)

Dr. Ingrid Ryznarova tel. +420-553-766780

E-mail Ingrid.ryznarova@nemocnice.opava.cz

Dr. Jakub Seget

E-mail jakub.seget@seznam.cz

 

11)  Jagiellonian University Medical College (Krakow, Poland)

Dr. Katarzyna Petitjean tel. +48-12-424-88-05

E-mail kpetitjean@cm-uj.krakow.pl

 

12)   Diabetes Frail (Luton, UK)

Prof. Alan Sinclair  tel. +44-07469-178232

E-mail sinclair.5@btinternet.com

 

13) Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust (Birmingham, UK)

Dr Sri Bellary tel. +44-0121-204-4145 

E-mail s.bellary@aston.ac.uk

 

14) Aston University (Birmingham, United Kingdom)

Dr Srikanth Bellary tel. 0044 121 424 2854

E-mail s.bellary@aston.ac.uk

Dr. Nichola Seare tel. 0044 121 204 3325

E-mail n.seare@aston.ac.uk

 

15)  University of Iceland (Reykjavík, Iceland)

Dr. Olof G. Geirsdottirtel. 00354-543-9898

Email ogg@hi.is

 

16)  University of Helsinki (Helsinki, Finland)

Dr Hanna Öhman tel. +358 50 5531528

Email hanna.ohman@elisanet.fi

 

17)  Maastricht University Medical Center (Maastricht, The Netherlands) 

Dr. Coby van de Boo tel. +31-43-388-13-24

E-mail coby.vandebool@maastrichtuniversity.nl